My Pee Wee’s Big Adventure

One of my earliest childhood memories is sitting behind my dad as he pedaled his bike around our neighborhood.   He had a kids seat attached to his bike, and I can distinctly remember the excitement of getting to go for a ride.   I must have been… maybe 3 or 4?   I remember seeing the seat years later and wondering how I ever fit in such a tiny space. 

Later, when I old enough to have a summer break from school, my sisters and I would roam the serpentine streets of our suburban neighborhood- riding to the park or finding a new street to go down.  We would spend hours riding around- never taking the same road home.  

When I was a older- in my early teens- we had moved into a much smaller neighborhood, and the big thing to do was to ride our bikes around and around and around the 1-mile long loop that most of the houses were on.  

On our first anniversary, Brisket and I went to Mackinac Island.  No cars are allowed on the island, so he and I rented bikes and took a two-wheeled tour of its perimeter.  It was the first time I had been on a bike in years.  After a few shaky starts, it all came back to me.  The wind in my face, the steady pump of the pedals, the standing up to go up a hill.   It was one of my favorite parts of the trip.

That isn’t our bike by the way- it just made a pretty shot…

In Europe, we are planning on having a car- but depending on where we end up living, Brisket may need it to get to and from work every day.   That leaves me, Li, and our feet, if we want to get around our adopted city.  And while Li can be a trooper, I don’t know how happy she’d be if a grocery store is a mile or more from our apartment. 

Or if I ask her to carry any of the groceries home.

The European solution?  A bike with a kid’s seat.  And maybe a basket or two.  For my baguettes, obviously.

So, I’ve been doing some research.  Checking a few things out. 

And have fallen in love.

It has a basket!  And a cup holder!   And fits perfectly in my pseudo-retro lifestyle! 

If it comes down to it, I would probably opt for the men’s version* so Brisket could use it too…I mean, a soldier on a girl bike might raise an eyebrow or two.

But if it were up to me?   I’d totally choose a girly color and deck it out with the whole wicker basket and bouquet of wildflowers….

*Which, for some crazy reason, is $20 cheaper than the women’s version.   What’s up with that Walmart?!?

Categories: ideas, Li, me, OMG | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “My Pee Wee’s Big Adventure

  1. Anna Gall

    You will be building memories of a lifetime for Li and you with the biking adventures in the European landscape. How fun! Time for flowers in a basket and lesiure shopping at the market sounds oh so quaint! Trying new foods! Please on the recipe creations to family and friends …

  2. Ed

    Your left-brained accountant B-I-L here…
    No disrespect to your fanciful notion, but unless its perfectly flat there, get something with some gears… your legs will thank me, esp with Li in tow.

    Those models are VERY popular in California to ride up and down the 10′ wide strip of asphalt that sits between the beach and reality. They call them Beach Cruisers.

  3. I appreciate the input- but part of the appeal is the inherent workout I’ll get! I really want to be able to crack walnuts with my thighs. :)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

