A handful of patience is worth more than a bushel of brains*

If you know me, you’d probably know that patience is not my strongest quality.   Followed closely by follow-through.   I love to start projects- any project- but at about the 95% mark I loose motivation, and suddenly want to jump into the next project.

Did I mention I also have a short attention span?   No?  Ooo, look over there- I mean…what was I saying?

This house is forcing me to work on those deficiencies though- while I want things done NOW (and in many cases yesterday), I can’t just walk away from a project for a newer, better project, because if I do…well, let’s say that I don’t like being ankle deep in water, or having to dodge random electrical wires. 

That can be a good thing- but when I look at the house to-do list, I’m a little bit overwhelmed, which in turn makes me impatient to have to wait until spring to get moving.  Especially on things I have to deal with everyday.  cough..cough..doors..cough.

 Sixteen inches of fresh snow will do that to you.

So, I distract myself with pretty internet items (one of my favs) and mindless mini-projects, (wool is my current choice) trying wait out the weather.  If I didn’t, I might just go a little crazy with a sledge hammer, all in the name of renovation, and M, Stella and I would be living in a motel while the experts come in to fix the flood and sparking wires.

*Dutch proverb

Categories: renovation | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “A handful of patience is worth more than a bushel of brains*

  1. Waiting until spring really can drive a person nuts. Most of our big projects also have to wait, and it’s so hard!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

