David (aka the baby) vs. Goliath (aka Me)

Hi.  My name is B and I have high blood pressure.

What’s that you say?  Aren’t I a healthy twenty-something?  Haven’t I bragged about ripping out flooring/walls/garage doors with my BARE HANDS?

It is funny how far the mighty have fallen.

And all due to a little baby.

The past couple of weeks, my blood pressure has been spiking at work.  It had been elevated at the beginning of the pregnancy- and then dropped for duration.  No biggie, right?  Right.  But then, it started going up again- but only at work.

Of course when I would head in to my doctor’s it would be fine…Hmph.

They tested me…they tested the baby…they tested my dog’s brother’s nephew…and nothing showed up.  No preeclampsia, no unusual stress on the baby, nothing to indicate any problem.  And yet, every day I tested it at work, it went up.

You can probably see where I’m going with this, right?

My maternity leave officially started on Friday!  YAY!  12 weeks off!

But, um…with no baby yet to show for it.

So, while I had originally planned on starting my maternity leave with, you know, an actual infant to pay attention to, instead I have judge shows on tv and a pile of library books to read until she decides to make an appearance.  What’s harder is all the random little projects I’d like to get done around the house BEFORE she makes an appearance and leaves me a blubbering, incoherent zombie for 12 weeks…but can’t because of the high blood pressure, and because my basketball stomach is making it hard for me to even get out of bed, much less finish putting up drywall.

I guess I’m going to take it as a little mini-vacation and enjoy the quiet while I can…course it’s not the Bahamas, but do you think the neighbors would mind seeing my beached whale body in a baby pool tomorrow?

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “David (aka the baby) vs. Goliath (aka Me)

  1. j

    Good to hear- the waiting will go by faster than you think it will.
    The judge shows aren’t so bad once you get used to them. I know someone that watches(listens) to them all day. She’s a nice person too, most of the time.
    Relax and enjoy the nice weather. We will be waiting for the big ‘news’!!

  2. Well, good luck! We’ll be waiting with bated breath. Enjoy that daytime TV!

  3. Put your feet up and enjoy it. You probably won’t get much time for that when little one springs forth!

    Good luck. Can’t wait to hear all about it.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

