Blink, blink, blink.

I’m turning 30 on Saturday.

I’m turning 30 on Saturday, and I have a baby.

I’m turning 30 on Saturday, I have a baby, and I have a mortgage.

I’m turning 30 on Saturday, got a baby, mortgage, and a full-time adult job

It kind of snuck up on me.

Yes, all of it.

One day, I’m jumping off the swings on the playground at school- the next, I’m turning 30.

I’m not necessarily sad about it, more surprised at how fast it went.

Next thing I’ll know, I’ll be making pancakes for my grandchildren on Christmas morning.

It goes by in the blink of an eye, doesn’t it?

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Blink, blink, blink.

  1. In my experience, that feeling doesn’t get any better into your mid-forties.

    It’s like this, which I keep meaning to embed in my blog: http://xkcd.com/616/ “I’m pretty sure I stopped growing up in my teens and have been faking it ever since.”

    We occasionally reveal this to our nine-year-old, which is probably bad.

  2. d

    I remember my little girl who was photographed by the local paper hanging upside down from the monkey bars at her school..she’s 30 now, and I’m a grandfather! And I remember very clearly riding like the wind down the long hill by my grade school on my black Schwinn 3 speed.
    I’ve got a couple more blinks than you.

  3. On getting older …

    *You have to get older. Growing up, however, is optional.

    *Getting older is better than the alternative.

    Sounds to me like you’ve got a lot to be thankful for — and still have so much life left in which to enjoy it. Some day you’ll think that 30-anything sounds like a good age.

    Happy early birthday! Hope it’s fabulous.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

