Sunrise, Sunset

This year, Hus* will be traveling on my 31st birthday, so we celebrated early with dinner out, a few libations, and a trip to… the bookstore!   Huzzah!

I know that came off sarcastically, but seriously- I love buying books.  It’s a weakness.   Yes- like a good little Midwesterner, I also am a card-carrying member of my library- but there’s something about a new book that puts the sparkle in my eye. 

(As a sidenote, have you ever been to a bookstore after 10pm on a Saturday night?  More importantly, have you ever noticed the other customers at the bookstore after 10pm on a Saturday night?  Yes, there are the stereotypical guys reading comic books (Hus included) but you kind of wonder what everyone else’s stories are… at least I do…)

Anyway, as I’m turning 31 this week, I started to reflect on an old 30 before 30 list I had been working on. 

Now, keep in mind that I can’t really remember what I did for my 30th birthday.  I was still deeply entrenched in the sleep-deprived days shortly after giving birth to Li, and I had just gone back to work a few days before.  I was pretty much a walking ball of mess and hormones.  I think there was cake?  Pretty sure there was cake….I’d say I’m 90% sure there was cake…but everything else?  Kind of fuzzy.   Kids will do that to your brain.

The life list for this year though?  Maybe 40 before 40?  I’m kind of over that.  Not to knock anyone who has such a list… I know crossing things off that list can be a lot of fun if you’re a list-crosser like I am- it’s just…it’s never exactly how you planned. 

Much like life. 

I recently read a blog where the blogger’s dream was to lay on the floor of the Sistine Chapel.  While that’s truly poetic and romantic, half of me wanted to let them keep that dream, while the other half wanted me to tell them the truth. 

When I went**, it was incredible, but you’re also literally standing shoulder-to-shoulder with about 400 other tourists while being repeatedly scolded by an Italian museum guard to “SHHHHHHhhhhhhh”. 

You want to lay on the ground to look at the ceiling?  If you can do it- awesome.  Me? I’d be terrified of getting a stilletto in the forehead. 

Now, if you’re the type of person who has that on their list, and can roll with that change, and not be disappointed – You are my personal hero.  Could you share some of your secrets?  I am not sure I’m that type of person.***

Hus is though- as I’ve mentioned before, he’s unfazed by long lines, plane delays, derailed plans, lost luggage, rude customer service representatives, acts of God, the sinking of the Titanic, and random hairballs.

It’s a bit frustrating.  For both of us.

I’m working on it though- usually by trying not to get too caught up in the planning and enjoying more of the living.  Hence the lack of a life list. 

Maybe I’ll have it under control by 32?

*Using the term “hubby” made my head hurt for too many reasons- his initial M is too common (and I think you have a 50/50 chance of guessing his name anyway)- so Hus is hearby what will refer to my one and only. 

**Yes, I’m aware at how condescending that sounds.  Apologies to all.

***And yes, I’m a bit of a drama queen sometimes.

Categories: me, travel | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Sunrise, Sunset

  1. unquiettime

    My husband too is less fazed by travel mishaps than I am. (Another reason I might not have made it as a backpacker?) I hope you have a great 31st and that you picked up some good books!

  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!! (I had a long comment here but I lost it the first time I tried to post. So, a “happy birthday” shall have to suffice. Apologies.)

  3. Happy birthday (belated?)!

    “Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.” — John Lennon

    I’ve always loved that quote. And the older I get, the truer it has become.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

