Identity Crisis

You may or may not have noticed that I’ve been playing around with the look of my blog.

Partially it’s because I get bored easily. 

Partially it’s because I was never a fan of my original picture of the flower. 

Partially it’s because I get the crazy idea I have mad design skills and I can customize my own blog before I crash and burn.  

Partially it’s because I’m entering a new phase in life- and want to reflect that in something I look at (almost) every day.

Partially because a fresh coat of paint can make an old room feel new…or an old blog feel new-er.

I’ve heard that if you want to build a strong “brand awareness” of your blog, you should stick to a design that represents you, and stick with it.   Think about brands that have remained the same for YEARS-  Tiffany.  Burberry.  Godiva.    All bring distinct images to mind.

Now think about the backlash some companies get for changing their look-  Gap.  Starbucks.  If you’re from Milwaukee- The Brewers. 

source

(I’m personally a fan of the this old look…which doesn’t help my argument…)

Hmmm…I’m not sure how I feel about being branded.  Then having to stick with it- come hell or high water.   It sounds a bit painful. 

And I think my five readers are smart enough to understand that.

So- consider this your warning!  I’m going to be playing around a bit…to keep it fresh.  To keep it interesting.  To keep ME interested.  And while my layout will probably stay the same- or be very similar in feel- my photos across the top will change with my mood…or when I get around to it.

I like keeping all 5 of you on your 50 toes.

Categories: me, to-dos | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

