The Waiting Game

14 days, 21 hours, 17 minutes.

That’s amount of time until Brisket is home on leave.  Not that I’m keeping track or anything.   (By the way, that’s approximately 21,437 minutes from now.)

Funny (tragically?) enough, I feel like most of my time has been spent waiting.  For a variety of things- the weekend, school, college, the DMV, dates, my first passport, my wedding, the ability to fit into a wide variety of clothing, a job, a career, an apartment, a house, for that next level, next day off, next paycheck, next BIG THING. 

I’m not saying all waiting is bad…Li was the result of 9 long months of waiting.  I’ve been waiting on Brisket for (calculating…calculating) 22 months combined, and haven’t regretted a minute of it. 

I’m just saying that it feels like I’m always waiting.  On something.  Or someone.   I know I’m not alone in this, am I?   

On Monday, I was waiting again in the grocery store line. 

Li had been a bit more difficult than normal when getting our groceries.   As in, sitting in the middle of the produce section and screaming type of difficult.  Now, the lines at my store are long.   I’m secretly convinced that every store in the Milwaukee area only employs two cashiers during any single shift.   So I’m always worried about a melt-down while we have to wait 20-30 minutes to check out.

Li had calmed down, and was actually waiting very patiently in line with me though- which is huge for a two-year old.  

Li is also tall for her age- so containment in the cart is the equivalent of a toddler clown car, and a bit dangerous for my eggs and bread.  I had joked she was an Amazon in utero- but she’s living up to that assessment with flying colors. 

While walking, her line of sight is exactly at the same level as some people’s….well, let’s just say “lower half”.  Like the woman in front of us, wearing form-fitting high-waist pants.  With the shirt tucked in.  To emphasize her “lower half”.

Li also has been a whiz at learning her body parts.

She looks at me and then points.  “Butt.”

I nod but do not engage her in a conversation- I know it would just encourage her.

“Butt.”  A little louder so I can now hear her clearly.

I ignore her comment, secretly praying the woman in front of us does not turn around and see Li pointing.

“Butt.”

No response from me.

“Mama!  Butt!” 

I have visions of her screaming it out in the middle of the crowded check-out lane, so I lean over and whisper.  “No, we don’t do that.  We don’t point.”

She looks me in the eye for a second, then turns her head back to the woman.  She nods her head, her little face very serious. 

Then, very, very quietly- almost under her breath: 

“Butt.”

I had to bite my tongue to keep from laughing.

So, waiting may be inevitable,  but it definitely helps to have the right people to wait with.

Categories: Li, me, OMG | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “The Waiting Game

  1. deanomosquito

    OH-(2..3..4..)MY-Gosh, what I wouldn’t pay for a nice little video clip of sweet Li’s hushed “..butt..”- and the rest of the grocery store adventure would be wonderful BONUS footage on the ‘Li-n-Me’ dvd set!! I hope your waiting continues to pass as quickly as the summer seems to be doing- at least when looking back in time! Thank you, thank you for waiting for brisket all those times- especially when he was away in 04-05!! I love the story of how he told us YOU were the one – if you chose to wait for him to return!! Love and stuff to y’all!! deanomosquito

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

